Emily of A Crazy Random Happenstance nominated me for the Liebster Award, an award given by bloggers to bloggers with less than 200 followers. Thanks, Emily!

Mini pigs are Emily’s favorite, so I have included one as thank you.

In order to accept and pass the award to others, I have to link back and thank the blogger who nominated me, answer the eleven questions they give me, tag up to eleven bloggers who have 200 or less followers, ask my nominees eleven questions, and let them know I tagged them.

Emily’s eleven questions to me were:

1. If you could have tea with any one person from history who would it be? Hmmm. There are so many incredible people so choose from. I would have to go with Roger Fry (1866-1934), the twentieth-century artist and critic who was the subject of my honors thesis in college. I spent a year analyzing every facet of his life and work in microscopic detail, so I think it would be extremely satisfying to actually talk to the man I feel like I know so well. On the downside, I get the sense that he was a bit grumpy and not necessarily a huge fan of women, but he would just have to deal with me anyway.

2. Who is your favorite pop culture vampire? Dracula. I remember checking Bram Stoker’s novel out of the library at a younger age than I probably should have and being absolutely terrified. He certainly made an impression on me, and I’m pretty sure it set the tone for of my future thoughts on vampires.

3. What was the first chapter book you remember reading? Gertrude Chandler Warner’s The Boxcar Children. There are over 100 books in the series, and I eventually read almost every one of them. I was far less successful at convincing my parents to let me move a boxcar into our backyard.

4. What’s up next in your Netflix Queue? I’ve recently gotten really into arts-related documentaries. Next up is Dancing in Jaffa, which is about promoting peace and so-existence through ballroom dancing in Israel and Palestine. I want to write a review of it, so I’m holding off on watching it until I finish the other articles I’m working on.

5. What is your favorite word? “Apotropaic”. It means having the power to protect against evil. If you read through my blog, you’ll see that I use it a lot.

6. Which member of the Scooby Gang is your favorite? Scooby! You’ve got to love a giant, crime-fighting dog.

7. What is your favorite, ‘so bad it’s good’ movie to watch? High School Musical and High School Musical 2. They’re not so bad, per se, but I would definitely be far less willing to admit to watching them than I was when they came out.

8. What music album changed the way you listen to music the most?I’m not sure I can say that any one album changed the way I listen to music, but I remember listening to Spiceworld in elementary school and thinking it was the album to end all other albums, so I’ll go with that one.

9. What house do you think you would be sorted into at Hogwarts? I’m pretty sure I would be a Ravenclaw, because I am the world’s biggest nerd, never go anywhere without at least one book, love to do research, and actually enjoyed doing homework. Pottermore agrees, and I already have the necktie. However, Hermione was all those things and she was a Gryffindor, so who knows?

10. What is your favorite Broadway musical? I’m going to be rebellious and list a few here. After all, there’s no such thing as too many musicals. Mamma Mia (my first Broadway musical), The Lion King (Broadway musical I want to sing absolutely every song from), and I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change (absolute favorite musical but was never on Broadway).

11. Which celebrity death will you never really get over? Robin Williams. Do I really need to explain this one?

My nominees are:

Lexa Likes

Pretty Fresh Beauty

History Witch

With Her Nose Stuck in a Book…

It’s Artalicious!

 Gentlemen and Tarpaulins

 The Journal of Antiquities

Book and Sword

Honesty Time

A Crazy Random Happenstance (I’m not sure if givebacks are allowed, so I don’t expect you to answer more questions.)

Here are my eleven questions.

  • Pick any work of art or artifact from any time or place to display in your home. Feel free to ignore all practical concerns when answering this question.
  • What was your major in college and why did you pick it?
  • Imagine that you wake up one morning and have a rare day off, with no responsibilities whatsoever. How do you spend the day?
  • Describe your personal sense of style by referring to the characters or pop culture icons it most resembles.
  • Who is your role model and why?
  • What is your favorite non-fiction book (because everyone always asks about fiction)?
  • Do you think a movie can ever be better than the book it’s based upon? (I know I’m being scandalous here!)
  • What is your dream job (real or invented)?
  • What would the title of your memoir be?
  • Would you rather have an unlimited, forever-replenishing supply of good books, cute clothing, or yummy snacks?
  • Pick a foreign language that you want to learn.

Go forth and spread the Liebster love! I was surprised how many amazing blogs have less than 200 followers. They should all be read and followed by the thousands. I have provided links to make it easy for you. 🙂

