Uncategorized

Plotting, Planning, and Blogging

Today is the first day of Blogging 201. Yay! I’m so excited! Today’s assignment is to come up with three goals for my blog, as well as to think about why I blog and what I hope to get out of it.

This is not me when I’m writing.
Johannes Vermeer [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
So why do I blog? I started this blog because it’s a forum to share my research and scholarship. No matter how much I enjoy the research I do in my paying job, it’s very important to me to work on my own projects as well, because I’m interested in certain topics, and I love the process. I would certainly welcome more paid research/writing jobs, and I would definitely like my blog to help me with this, but that’s more of a secondary goal. My main goal would be to showcase my research, get it in front of as many people as possible, and hopefully establish me as a scholar whose work people want to read.

If my blog succeeded beyond my wildest expectations, what would it look like? My blog would be well-read and well commented on. I would post more regularly, with more substantial and focused content. The blog would definitely have a more polished look to it. It would connect me with other scholars and would help me get new opportunities in the field.

So here are my three goals:

  1. To increase comments on my blog posts, since the lack of them is one of my biggest frustrations as a blogger. I’ll start by aiming for an average of one constructive (something more than “Hey! Nice Post!”) comment for each most that I make over the next two weeks, but since I’ve already made so many new friends in this class, hopefully I’ll have to up that number at some point.
  2. To come up with a workable blogging calendar for the next month that allows me to achieve those regular, substantial, focused posts I mentioned before. This will probably involve a certain amount of figuring out which of my many interests are most important to me to focus on. If you click on that link, you’ll realize why I have trouble focusing my work. I’m interested in many more things than I can take on at any one time.
  3. To implement three new strategies to promote by work and my blog. I would definitely welcome any and all ideas about how I can do this.
5 thoughts on “Plotting, Planning, and Blogging

  1. I love your 3 goals, most especially the one about constructive comments. “Nice post” is all well and good, but helpful information or more thoughtful comments are so much better! BTW, I like your portrait! (jk, but it is what attracted me to read your post among all the other blogging 201, so nice pic!)

    Good luck on your goals, they seem pretty reasonable and achievable!

  2. I follow so many history blogs that I often don’t have time to comment! I’m certain, however, that the longer you continue, the goals you are reaching for will come as I have found your writing to be full of insight. I’m not a historian so any comments I do make are from an amateur perspective. Good luck!

  3. Even in the oughties, it seemed that the blogs with the most comments tended to be ones with loud opinions on controversial subjects, or humour, or a famous writer or sponsor. The first or third do not appeal to me and readers can decide for themselves whether I succeed at the second. The exodus to walled gardens like Facebook and short-form sites like Twitter and Tumblr does make it harder to build communities on forums and blogs!

Leave a Reply

