toulouse-and-berlioz

Gargoyle collecting isn’t among the most popular of hobbies, so I may be on the road to becoming a trendsetter. I purchased these two little grotesques at the New York Renaissance Faire this past weekend. I’ve named them Toulouse and Berlioz in honor of one of my favorite Disney movies, The Aristocats. According to the salesperson, Toulouse is a grotesque baby goat and Berlioz a baby lion. I tried to find some real medieval goat and lion grotesques for comparison, but all I came up with was carvings of lions eating goats. Let’s hope these two get along better than their historic predecessors.

I bought my grotesques from a cool little shop called Sales From the Crypt, which also sells many other medieval and medieval-inspired works. My friends and I were particularly taken with the reproduction Lewis chessmen, and I’m considering a set of carved faces based on Oxford University gargoyles for my next acquisition.

If you could have your own gargoyle or grotesque, what would it look like?

