Art History · Articles · Headstuff.org Articles · History of Myths, Legends, and Fairy Tales

Santa Claus Imagery Through the Ages – now on HeadStuff

merryoldsanta
Santa Claus as depicted by Thomas Nast in Harper’s Weekly (1881). [Public Domain] via Wikimedia Commons.
Last month, I told HeadStuff that I wanted to write an article about the origins of Santa Claus and the evolution of his appearance. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. The history of Santa Claus is way more complicated than I thought. He doesn’t have any one single origin or neat and tidy line of development.

The topic may not have been as straightforward as I assumed, but nothing worthwhile is ever easy. I learned so much while writing this article, and I hope you’ll learn at least as much while reading it. Click here for “Santa Claus Imagery Through the Ages” on HeadStuff. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

