Laura Woodward
Laura Woodward; Jungle Rain, Palm Beach; unknown date; private collection

In honor of Women’s History Month, my article about female artists of the Hudson River School went live today on Daily Art Daily – the online counterpart to the Daily Art app I’ve been writing for. My piece features six female landscape painters who worked in nineteenth century America. The inspiration for this article came from an essay I read while researching another project, as well as a recent exhibition catalogue on this subject from Hawthorne Fine Art in New York City. I had so much fun writing this that I’m planning a second installment some time soon. Believe it or not, there were quite a lot of female Hudson River School artists, and I can’t content myself to just write about six of them.

Read the article here on Daily Art Daily. Thanks Zuzanna for asking me to write for you!

